smartSTART Alabama Partnership for Children
Board Of Directors

The APC is governed by a 27 member board of directors.  The agency by-laws name the positions for each board member, and seventeen appointments to the board are made by the Governor, Speaker of the House of Representatives, Pro Tempore of the Senate, and the APC Executive Committee.  There are also nine Ex-Officio Directors who hold positions on the APC Board due to their positions in the government of the State of Alabama.  Those positions are as follows:  Attorney General, State Superintendent of Education, Commissioner of the Department of Children's Affairs, Director of the Office of School Readiness, Commissioner of the Department of Human Resources, State Public Health Officer, Commissioner of the Department of Rehabilitation Services, Commissioner of the Department of Mental Health, Executive Director of the Department of Child Abuse and Neglect Prevention.
Board Members

The Honorable Frank McGuire
Chair, APC Board
District Judge,
Covington County District Court

Dr. Susan Hubbard
Vice Chair, APC Board
Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, Auburn University
Owner, Craft Master Printers

Margaret Morton
Treasurer, APC Board
Executive Director,
SAFE Family Services

Mary Blankson, M.D.

Teresa Costanzo
Executive Director
Tuscaloosa's One Place

Mary Davis
Executive Director
Childcare Resource Network

Betty Estes
Child Care Branch Executive
Prattville YMCA

Dr. Suzanne Freeman
Pike Road Schools

Lynn Jinks
Jinks, Crow, & Dickson, P.C.

Martha Jinright
Executive Director
Gift of Life Foundation

Mike Jordan
External Affairs Manager
Alabama Power

Dr. William Meehan
Jacksonville State University

Addie Myrick
Bethany Child Development Center

Nannette Phillips
Head Start Director
Tuskegee - Macon County Head Start

Robert Powers
Co-Founder and Qualifying Broker & Financial Representative
The Eufaula Agency

Van Richey
President & CEO
American Cast Iron Pipe Company

Dr. Herbert Riedel
Lurleen B. Wallace Community College

Donna Watts
South Baldwin Chamber of Commerce
Ex-Officio Board Members

Dr. Tommy Bice
State Department of Education

Dr. Cary Boswell
Department of Rehabilitation Services

Nancy Buckner
Department of Human Resources

Jan Hume
Appointed Representative
Office of School Readiness

Sallye Longshore
Department of Child Abuse and Neglect Prevention

Jim Reddoch, J.D.
Department of Mental Health

Jeana Ross
Department of Children's Affairs

Luther Strange
Attorney General

Dr. Don Williamson
State Health Officer
Department of Public Health
Website Design Company | WideNet